Abuja DisCo assigns 86 MDAs a 10-day deadline to pay off their N47.1 billion in debt

Posted by

86 government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies, or MDAs, have been given ten days’ notice by the management of the Abuja energy Distribution Company, or AEDC, to settle their N47.1 billion energy debt or face being disconnected.

After the MDAs neglected to settle their overdue sum for December, the company published the notice in an advertisement on Monday.

According to the statement, “Our previous attempts to make them honour their obligations have not achieved the desired result, so the Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) PLC is constrained to do this publication with the details of Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies with long outstanding unpaid bills for services rendered to them through the provision of electricity supply.”

The Ministry of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) has a debt of N7.5 billion, while the Chief of Defence Staff-Barracks and Military Formations is the largest debtor with N12 billion. The Niger State Governor Abuja Liaison Office comes in second with N3.4 billion, followed by the Ministry of Finance with N5.4 billion.

Other ministries and agencies that receive funding are the Ministry of State Petroleum (N2.1 billion), the Ministry of Education (N1.8 billion), the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (N1.5 billion), the Nigeria Police Force (N1.3 billion), the Ministry of Health (N1.1 billion), the Clerk of the National Assembly (N1 billion), the Presidential Villa (N923.8 million), and the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (N846.1 million).

READ ALSO:  Aiyedatiwa: Ondo legislator Makinde criticizes colleagues over Tinubu letter

Leave a Reply